Directory of Major Malls
Directory of Major Malls

How are Chain Stores Classified?

According to the U.S. Census Bureau, there are four basic types of Retail Chains; National, Regional, Local Regional and Independents.

“First, single store retailers are defined as one type, which we also consider to be representative of mom-and-pop stores. Second, we classify multi-unit firms into three types of chain firms: Local, Regional, and National. A firm is a local chain if it operates multiple establishments in only one state. A firm is a regional chain if it operates in at least two states but no more than 10 states. Finally, a firm is a national chain if it operates in more than 10 states”

Chain Store Classification

« Back to FAQ's

Major Shopping Centers Across the US & Canada
Tenant Locations
VIP Contacts for Leasing Agents, Landlords, Managers & Marketing Directors
Data Point Updates in Just the Last Year Alone
Site / Leasing Plans
Square Feet of Retail GLA

Still Need Help?

Contact Us